Register for the Virtual Power Hour Round II- Finally Get Things Done!
Learn How To Lead Private Workshops Hire Me to Speak About Services COVID-19 Resources Register for the Virtual Power Hour Login

Happy Veterans Day 2017

2017 holiday Nov 11, 2017

"How important it is for us to recognize and celebrate our heroes and she-roes!" - Maya Angelou

Happy Veterans Day!

A great big "Thank You" to our military women and men who have served our country with dignity and honor. Thank you for your service to our great nation.

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN VETERANS DAY AND MEMORIAL DAY?
Both holidays were established to recognize and honor the men and women who have worn the uniform of the United States Armed Forces. Memorial Day, which is observed on the last Monday in May, was originally set aside as a day for remembering and honoring military personnel who died in the service of their country, particularly those who died in battle or as a result of wounds sustained in battle.

While those who died are also remembered on Veterans Day, which is observed on November 11, Veterans Day is intended to thank and honor all those who served honorably in the military - in wartime or peacetime. In fact, Veterans Day is largely intended to thank living Veterans for their service, to acknowledge that their
contributions to our national security are appreciated, and to underscore the fact that all those who served - not only those who died - have sacrificed and done their duty.

To ensure the sacrifices of America’s fallen heroes are never forgotten, in December 2000, the U.S. Congress passed and the president signed into law “The National Moment of Remembrance Act,” P.L. 106-579, creating the White House Commission on the National Moment of Remembrance. The commission’s charter is to “encourage the people of the United States to give something back to their country, which provides them so much freedom and opportunity” by encouraging and coordinating  commemorations in the United States of Memorial Day and the National Moment of Remembrance.

The National Moment of Remembrance - Memorial Day

The National Moment of Remembrance encourages all Americans to pause wherever they are at 3 p.m. local time on Memorial Day for a two minute of silence to remember and honor those who have died in service to the nation.

Veterans Day Moment of Silence Act  - Veterans Day

On October 7, 2016, President Obama signed the Veterans Day Moment of Silence Act, The new law requires that the President issue a proclamation calling on the people of the United States to observe a two-minute national moment of silence on Veterans Day at 3:11 p.m. Atlantic standard time, 2:11 p.m. eastern standard time, 1:11 p.m. central standard time, 12:11 p.m. mountain standard time, 11:11 a.m. Pacific standard time, 10:11 a.m. Alaska standard time, and 9:11 a.m. Hawaii-Aleutian standard time.

God Bless you and yours!

Colonel Angela M. Odom, US Army Retired

P.S. I took the liberty of copying this information from https://www.va.gov/opa/vetsday/docs/2017_Veterans_Day_Resource_Kit_for_Teachers.pdf

 

Close

50% Complete

Grab My Grown Women Better U Resource Guide

Get some tools to help you in your relationships, health, finances and leadership abilities.